Home Fall and Winter Maintenance Calendar


Fall is the time to get your home ready for the coming winter, which can be the most gruelling season for your home. During winter months, it is important to follow routine maintenance procedures, by check your home carefully for any problems that may arise and taking corrective action as soon as possible.

Home Fall Maintenance

  • Check fireplace and chimney, service or clean if needed.
  • Clean range hood filter
  • Clean leaves out of eavestroughs
  • Check roofing and flashing for signs of wear or damage
  • Close outside hose connection
  • Close windows, skylights
  • Clean and reactivate heat recovery ventilator, if it was turned off
  • Winterize landscapping
  • Test space heating system
  • Close vents to crawl spaces
  • Test your smoke alarm. Change the batteries at least once a year

Home Winter Maintenance

  • Clean or replace furnace filter
  • Check/ clean heat recovery ventilator, wash or replace filter
  • Clean humidifier and turn it on if needed
  • Check exhaust fans
  • Ensure that air intake, exhausts and meteres are clear of snow
  • Clean range hood filter
  • Check basement floor drain
  • Do safety checks: fire escape routes, fire extinguishers, doors and window locks
  • Ensure gas valve is clear of ice and snow

Home Annual Maintenance

  • Dust or vacuum electric baseboards
  • Vacuum ducts behind warm air and return air grilles
  • Test plumbing shut off valve on hot water tank; drain water from tank
  • Check and if needed, oil door hinges
  • Lubricate garage door motor, chain, etc
  • Check attic for signs of moisture in summer and fall
  • Check septic system: clean if needed (usually about every 3 years)

Home Two – Five Year Maintenance

  • Check and repair driveway cracks
  • Check and repair chimney cap and the caulking between cap and chimney, re-caulk as necessary
  • Refinish wood surfaces, including window frames and doors

For more information on home maintenance send me an email at wpianka@tmacc.com or check out this article on Tips & Repair

About wojciechpianka

After a few years of studying English and History at the University of Toronto, I decided to transfer to Ryerson University and pursue a Bachelor of Commerce degree. While studying, I worked various jobs where I acquired many skills. Starting as a teller at Scotiabank, I moved on to being a manager of a restaurant, admin staff at a medical clinic, a sales agent for INGDirect and a manager at One King West Hotel. While all these jobs challenged me, I never felt my potential being utilized. Finally in 2008, I completed the Ontario Mortgage Agent Course and signed up with The Mortgage Alliance Company of Canada. This was a great decision, as it allowed me to use the skills I learned working to help people achieve their real estate and financial goals. My passion for real estate and numbers has lead me to becoming a mortgage agent. Growing up in New York City, I always had a fascination of historic buildings and skyscrapers. At 21, I bought my 1st property and have been investing in real estate ever since. I firmly believe thru steady, safe and conservative investing a one can obtain long term financial wealth. One day, I hope to develop the same buildings I help clients purchase.
This entry was posted in Home, News, Updates and Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment