BIA Downtown Yonge


Living in the Bay Street corridor, is by far the best area in downtown Toronto. Being minutes from everything is amazing. Major retailers, hospitals, universities, business district, theatre district and Canada’s busiest tourist attraction the Eaton Centre. Underground PATH access is being completed with the construction of the AURA skyscraper. All these make this a very attractive area to live in.

bia downtown yonge

How attractive is it? According to 2009 statistics provided by the Business Improvement Area Association about 124,000 people live within 20 minute walking distance. 53,000 people go thru the Yonge and Dundas intersection in 8 hrs, that is more than any other comparable area in North America. Currently there are about 11,419 condo units in this part of the city. Over 600 retail stores, 150 bars and restaurants, and 8 hotels are located  in the area. Serviced by three subway stations, Queen, Dundas, and College, and offering ample parking the area is always buzzing.

The area has some very interesting statistics in regards to demographics. The average age is 31.5 and 46.5% of residents are single. 65.6% of the area residents are university educated. Workers comprise 17% of the downtown workforce or 41,000 people. With continued expansion, and more projects planned. Expect property values to keep going up. As more property taxes are introduced into the system, the crime rate should drop. Zoning amendment signs are visible all over Yonge Street and Bay Street. Developers realize the value of this neighborhood, and are investing in its expansion.

More information can be found at Downtown Yonge or contact me at wpianka@mortgagealliance.com.

About wojciechpianka

After a few years of studying English and History at the University of Toronto, I decided to transfer to Ryerson University and pursue a Bachelor of Commerce degree. While studying, I worked various jobs where I acquired many skills. Starting as a teller at Scotiabank, I moved on to being a manager of a restaurant, admin staff at a medical clinic, a sales agent for INGDirect and a manager at One King West Hotel. While all these jobs challenged me, I never felt my potential being utilized. Finally in 2008, I completed the Ontario Mortgage Agent Course and signed up with The Mortgage Alliance Company of Canada. This was a great decision, as it allowed me to use the skills I learned working to help people achieve their real estate and financial goals. My passion for real estate and numbers has lead me to becoming a mortgage agent. Growing up in New York City, I always had a fascination of historic buildings and skyscrapers. At 21, I bought my 1st property and have been investing in real estate ever since. I firmly believe thru steady, safe and conservative investing a one can obtain long term financial wealth. One day, I hope to develop the same buildings I help clients purchase.
This entry was posted in Home, News, Updates and Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

